Tags

, , , , , , ,

What is your name (and usernames)?

My name is Catherine, but most people know me as Cat of “A Doll Affinity”.

Where are you from?

I was born in Kentucky, but raised the first part of my life in
Southern Ohio. I’ve lived several places since, but keep ending up in
Indiana.

Age?  27

How long have you been in the art industry?

I’ve always loved art, but I didn’t get into it as a monetary means
until around 3-4 years ago.

What got you started?

To be honest, it was the heartbreaking event of suddenly losing my
grandma that thrust me into a creative frenzy.  She was more of a
parent than a grandparent, and was one of only 3 constants I’ve ever
had in my life. My loss cultivated my creativity, and helped me work
through some of the hard parts. Little did I know how far this would
take me into my craft…

What types of customs/art/crafts do you do?

I work with Barbie dolls the most. Although, I have worked with some
1/6th female action figures, Monster High, Poppy Parker, Susie, and
other Fashion Royalty dolls. My specialty is re-rooting, although I am
known to do partial repaints as well. I’ve done full re-paints, but I
still need practice to feel more confident in that area. I also sew
when time permits. (^_^)

What sort of mediums do you use?

1/6 Dolls, Saran hair, Good sealers, Acrylic paint, 20/0 paint brushes

Are there any products you just can’t live without?

100% Professional Grade Acetate, Saran hair, a good re-rooting needle,
a good pair of scissors, and Dritz Brand Fray Check.

What is your most favorite piece of work you have made? (link)

My “Toki Doki” inspired Steffie.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/adollaffinity/6339365044/in/set-72157628112123304/lightbox/

What is your least favorite piece of work you have made? (link)

My very first re-root. She was an over plugged hot mess. (^_^)
http://www.flickr.com/photos/adollaffinity/5817037695/in/set-72157630996666418

What is the worst injury you’ve had from working on your art?

I was working on a Ken’s head removal. It was a Superman Ken, and he
needed his neck knob replaced. Not an easy task.  I was trying to grip
with my needle nose pliers and slipped hitting/pinching both hands in
the process. Not to mention cutting myself on the plastic. Good news,
he did get his new neck knob. (^_^)

What is the funniest mistake you’ve made while working on your art?

Most mistakes don’t tend to be funny, but every now and again the,
“Why did I just let that happen?” moments come along. Mine would have
to be during several separate sewing binges I sewed the garment
backwards or put the pieces on the opposite sides of the desired
location. Those are some sobering 1/6 fittings. I find myself laughing
as I seam rip those types of mistakes. Especially when you are
arrogantly sewing along as though you are in, “the zone” only to
discover you are in the wrong kind of zone.

Who/What inspires you?

Fashion magazine spreads, model photography, abstract paintings, Asian
culture, anime, and music.

What projects are you currently working on?

I have been commissioned by a fellow blogger to extensively re-root
and style 3 Steffie dolls for her upcoming book.  However, I am also
working on a couple re-roots for my personal collection, as well as
projects to sell in the future. I generally have several projects
going at once. I always joke that I need several bionic limbs attached
to keep up with my brain, but then I would never sleep.

Do you have any odd habits while working on customs/art/crafts?

Never sat down to think of this before but, I have a huge bottle of
hand sanitizer on my work table. I use it every time I stop/start
whatever project I’m working on, and no matter how clean a doll head
looks I always wash it before I start.

What types of art do you enjoy?

I love seeing what other doll artists have done, and I enjoy various
genres of music, darker themed art work (not extreme gore), color,
K-pop videos (seriously, tons of color and cool concepts), and
sometimes I don’t know I will enjoy it until it comes along (like a
case by case enjoyment).

Do you take commissions?

I do, but on a very limited basis at the moment. Hopefully I will be
moving in February/March, so a lot of effort is going into that right
now. But after that I may consider taking on more commission work.
(^_^)

Where can people see your work and contact you? (facebook, da,
website- give us them
all)

E-Mail: crushed.velvet.orchid5@gmail.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ADollAffinity

Blog: http://thedollaffinity.blogspot.com/

Flickr: http://www.flickr.com/photos/adollaffinity/

Etsy: http://www.etsy.com/shop/ADollAffinity

eBay: http://myworld.ebay.com/crushedvelvetorchid

Youtube: http://www.youtube.com/user/ADollAffinity

Do you have any favorite tips or tricks?

Here are just a few I use all the time. (^_^)

*When re-rooting don’t make your plugs too large. This will cause the
hair to look puffy no matter how much you boil it after you are
finished.  (Think 80’s hair band.)
*Another re-rooting tip is to have a heating pad handy. You can
utilize it to keep the hair laying down as you re-root.
*Keep in mind that the part is VERY important. It can (but doesn’t
always) make or break the finished look.
*Try re-rooting around the outer most line first, and working your way
up to the part,  in order to keep the hair even in thickness on both
sides of the head as you go.
*A re-painting tip for dolls would be to use good acrylic paint, and
use a paint “extender” so that your paint can go on in thin even
coats.

What advice do you have for someone just starting to get into customizing/art?

Practice and patience!  Seriously, time and attention to detail is the
best way to really grasp your craft from all angles. You’ll start to
notice trends, common pitfalls, and other ways of doing things.
Everyone has their own way of getting certain tasks done, and there is
nothing wrong with that. And always make sure you are enjoying what
you are doing, because time is precious and should be spent crafting
something you are truly passionate about. (^_^)

1794620_848351695198286_2804223901807031453_n

10371368_789468241086632_5828263892883241857_n

10405488_866463560053766_6778432502925875212_n

4 (2)

Carmen at the pond (a reroot) (1)

