Tags

, , , ,

What is your name (and usernames)? soooo, my user name is: Lovelaurland

 

Where are you from? I’m from Norwich, England.

 

Age- i’m 31 years old

 

How long have you been in the art industry? I think I have been customising for 5 years now.

 

What got you started?
I got started when I went onto ebay looking for a childhood MLP and found a custom made version, this made me go ‘oh wow, I could make somthing like that’ 😀

 

What types of customs/art do you do?
I make all sorts of customs, mainly my Kimono ponies but love a challenge, like my newest one ‘Ichabod Crane’ customs.

 

What sort of mediums do you use? My mediums can be all sorts of this, I like using Nylon hair and Games workshop paints and Apoxie sculpt is awesome to work with, I also use printable acerate for fairy wings and merpony tails, and fantasy film.
I have also used mohair and anything that will work on a pony 😛

 

Are there any products you just can’t live without? I can not live without my paints, the Games Workshop paints are so smooth, I also love apoxie sculpt, way better than sculpey imo.

 

What is your most favorite custom you have made? My favourite custom I have ever made has to be: http://lovelauraland.deviantart.com/gallery/?offset=24#/d4vxqoe

 

What is your least favorite custom you have made? my Least favourite: http://lovelauraland.deviantart.com/gallery/?catpath=scraps&offset=48#/d1k16ic

 

What is the worst injury you’ve had from working on customs? I have never hurt my self while making my customs- however I’m not very good with superglue and tend to get it all over my fingers and in my hair, god knows how it gets in my hair?!! my ponyroom carpet is covered in glue patches, not just super glue but hot glue gun glue as well! I should be more careful!

 

What is the funniest mistake you’ve made while working on your art? Never had a funny mistake, i’m a bit boring- although as i’m so clumsy with glue I end up with all sorts of things glued to my fingers, glitter, stars, pony hair and the odd crystal or two lol

 

Who/What inspires you? I am inspired by lots of people on the arena- I love the work of PoniesYeah (who doesn’t) and DarkHorseCollectibles, I’m also inspired by colour, if I see a colour combo I like together I try to make something with it 😀

 

What projects are you currently working on? I have so many projects going on at the moment its a bit too many to be honest but I like to be busy, I’m trying to finish a merpony commission, and 2 kimono pony commissions, also 2 peg commissions I also have some non- commissions awaiting to be finished, 3 kimono ponies and a boy G1 peg smile I was hoping to do a G3 Kimono of Dancing Butterflies 🙂

 

 

Do you have any odd habits while working on customs/art? no odd habits, well I don’t think I have- I leave my pony heads drying in the bathroom which sometimes gives my husband a scare lol

 

What types of art do you enjoy? I enjoy manga, anime art and Art nouveau, chinese and Japanese art inspires me too 😀

 

Do you take commissions? I am always open for commissions as long as people don’t mind waiting, I work full time and do my ponies in my spare time!

 

Where can people see your work and contact you? (facebook, da, website- give us them all) 🙂 my work is all on DA: http://lovelauraland.deviantart.com/ and you can contact me there or on the mlparena, i’m also on facebook as Laura Cranston if anyone would like to add me as a friend 😀

 

Do you have any favorite tips or tricks? my tip is to always work with apoxie with cold hands if possible, it becomes less sticky to work with 🙂 also to stick on small objects like crystals I pour a little glue out on to some spare plastic and use a toothpick to dab a tiny dot onto the area I want to place the crystal and use tweezers to stick it in place.

 

What advice do you have for someone just starting to get into customizing/art? if you’re just starting to customize my advice is to join the mlparena and get help and advice from a vast array of customisers on hand 24 hours a day 😀

 

