Tags

, , , , ,

 

What is your name (and usernames)? Tosha Aline, but I call my art “company” Sinnerhella.

Where are you from? New Hampshire in the USA

Age – 20

How long have you been in the art industry? I’ve been doing art for as long as I can remember, but I made my first custom doll in 2010.

What got you started? I just wanted to try making a doll. I made a couple for myself which led to a good friend asking me to make one for her. After that, I got a few more requests and it sort of went from there.

What types of customs/art do you do? I dabble a bit in all that I can, but mostly I’m known for my doll customs.

What sort of mediums do you use? Acrylic paint, it’s my favorite!

Are there any products you just can’t live without? In general, I can’t live without any projects! I usually have too many going at once, but I’m more comfortable with that then not having any at all.

What is your most favorite custom you have made? It’s hard to pick one, but I’d have to say Boo (http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=437353826293769&set=a.352929711402848.94970.227018773993943&type=3&permPage=1 ) She came out exactly how I wanted her to.
What is the funniest mistake you’ve made while working on your art? I didn’t like how a doll’s face came out once, but the paint I used only smudged when I tried to remove it. Now her face is stained red, oh no!!

Who/What inspires you? A mix of things. It could be emotions, or a song I heard, or even just finding fabric I like. Also, even though it sounds morbid, causes of death are inspiring since most of my dolls are “dead”.

What projects are you currently working on? A lot of dolls and a lot of figures. I think in total there might be around 40 different things waiting to be done!

Do you have any odd habits while working on customs/art? When I switch paint brushes, I tend to keep the one I’m no longer using in my mouth, holding the handle with my teeth. I’ve gotten paint on my face plenty of times.

What types of art do you enjoy? Painting is my favorite, but I dabble in tattoos and graphic design. It’s all fun!

Do you take commissions? I used to. I cannot at the moment as I have so many, but at some point I will be taking them again.

Where can people see your work and contact you? My facebook page Sinnerhella (http://www.facebook.com/Sinnerhella ) is the best place for both, but you can also email me at sinnerhella@yahoo.com .

Do you have any favorite tips or tricks? Watered down paint or using paint thinner helps a lot. And if you can avoid it, never sew leather by hand!

What advice do you have for someone just starting to get into customizing/art? Don’t make what you think others might enjoy, make what YOU enjoy.

What is your least favorite custom you have made? (http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=378007922228360&set=a.352929711402848.94970.227018773993943&type=3&permPage=1 ) Louise. She starting off as a totally different idea and slowly things began to go wrong.

What is the worst injury you’ve had from working on customs? I haven’t had too many, knock on wood. But I’ve gotten needles into my fingers while hand sewing. Nothing major, thankfully!

 

