Tags

, , , , , , ,

What is your name (and usernames)?
jupiternwndrlnd (tho most just call me jupi)

Where are you from?
I’m a California girl

Age-
Old enough.

How long have you been customizing?
I made my first custom in late 2003….so about 9 years

What got you started?
I remember seeing a custom made by TicTacToe, and wanting to do that myself

What types of customs do you do?
Mostly G3 customs, or G1 replicas/restores. I have done a lot of zebras too….like 69 or so…

What sort of mediums do you use?
acrylic paint. sometimes i will use apoxie sculpt or sculpy. but for the most part I just use acrylic and lots of time/patience

Are there any products you just can’t live without?
a good tiny paint brush!

What is your most favorite custom you have made?
hmm…that’s hard. it changes from week to week. Currently I would say my Monochrome pony: https://sphotos-b.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ash3/543237_373306912731397_1639420398_n.jpg

What is your least favorite custom you have made?
oi…most of them have flaws that I nit-pick…but I have never been fully happy with my Pokemon pony: https://sphotos-a.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-prn1/61989_104293039632787_1799863_n.jpg

What is the worst injury you’ve had from working on customs?
i have gotten some pretty mean blisters from the pliers while trying to prep baits

What is the funniest mistake you’ve made while working on your art?
pulling out some hair, I once pulled out a huge chunk of hair….and the entire section of plastic between the ponies ears XD

Who/What inspires you?
I find inspiration in many things! colors, different art styles, books, movies, songs…the possibilities are endless!

What projects are you currently working on?
a lot *stares at pile of ponies* from where i am sitting I can see about 15 WIPs ponies….some trades, some gifts and even a few that will be going up for sale soon 🙂

Do you have any odd habits while working on customs?
i use multiple brushes — and usually have them all behind my ear. I also touch my tongue to the brush to get a good point to it…gross I know, but it works so well

What types of art do you enjoy?
all types! I was a fine arts major in college…i did a lot of water colors, pastels, acrylics. and I am a graphic designer by profession. I love all arts and crafts. Music is a huge part of my artistic life. and recently I have been getting into the art of cake decorating.

Do you take commissions?
sometimes yes. these last few weeks I have been open for baby commissions 🙂

Where can people see your work and contact you? (facebook, da, website- give us them all) Facebook is the best way: https://www.facebook.com/jupiscustoms

Do you have any favorite tips or tricks?
I always find it helpful to have your inspiration in front of you while you paint…but don’t feel you have to stick to the precise details…have fun with your paint work! and know your color wheel!

What advice do you have for someone just starting to get into customizing?
take it slow! its always exciting to be at the end of a custom, but if you rush it, your work will reflect it. and don’t expect to be perfect the first time…it takes lots of practice. Also, don’t compare yourself to anyone else, be YOU! And research into products and techniques are always helpful before you begin 🙂

 

