Tags

, , , , , ,

Quick side note from Ruby- It made my night to be able to post this interview. I may have scared the cats with my squeal.

What is your name (and usernames)?
Nara Youn – oONARAOo

Where are you from?
From Korea, but I was born in the US. So I consider my self a dual citizen of Korea and America

Age-
I’m 29 but a kid in heart. ^^

How long have you been in the art industry?
About 8~10 years.

What got you started?
Since birth I loved movies especially Disney animations. I was glued to the TV with a Disney VHS tape in my hand, but the moment that really drove me to want to work in the movie industry was the day I saw Toy Story in the theater. I must have watched it about 50 times since then ^^

What types of art do you do?
By day, I’m a 3D animator. My works include Shrek the Third, Shrek the Halls, Madagascar Escape 2 Africa, How to Train your Dragon and Megamind.
By night I am an artist working on my personal drawings, for galleries and commissions. I’m not sure if I could categorize the things I like to draw to a type of art, but I do like drawing girls and cute things. For the most part, I just draw what I like to draw.

What sort of mediums do you use?
I draw a lot on my tablet PC to save time on scanning, But I enjoy drawing on post its with my color pencils, pen and acrylic.

Are there any products you just can’t live without?
Post-its and Prisma color pencils. Post its save my life constantly ^^ They’re not only great for reminders but also great to carry around and doodle on while you’re waiting in the train or while you’re waiting for your turn to get notes from the director during dailies. ^^

What is the funniest mistake you’ve made while working on your art?
I don’t believe in mistakes in art work. It’s always a struggle to get to the final product but I can’t say any drawings I’ve done was a mistake.

Who/What inspires you?
I draw most inspiration from creative, inspiring people around me. If I’m in search for some inspiration I like to also go to my library of movies and animated films.

What projects are you currently working on?
I’m currently working as an animation director for a video game called ‘Yogventures’. During my personal time, I’m working on post-it drawings which I plan to combine into a book to publish. I’ve been doing a one post-it a day, for the past year and a half so I have about 500~600 pages.

Do you have any odd habits while working on art?
I’ve always worked on small sketch books. So I guess I like to draw small than big. But I will say I love making huge pieces too.

What types of art do you enjoy?
My favorite artists are Audrey Kawasaki, Arther de Pins and Marguerite Sauvage. I love looking at figures incorporated with graphic shapes.

Do you take commissions?
Yes I do, but only ones that are worth the time. I don’t have that much free time outside my work schedule so I’m picky about what commissions I take and how much the commission is.

Where can people see your work and contact you? (facebook, da, website- give us them all)
My animation you can see in theaters ^^
My art you can see some of the latest ones here:
FB- Nara’s Post its
Tumblr- Nara-Youn

Do you have any favorite tips or tricks?
I’m not sure if I have any tricks…

What advice do you have for someone just starting to get into art?
If you truly love what you do, then you have nothing to worry about. You will succeed no matter what. Being an Artist is not an easy road to take, but it will be the most fun and beautiful path if you love what you do. There will be times when you’re burnt out and worn from hefty deadlines and overwhelming exhaustion. There will be days when you feel all your creative juices have been sucked out. It will be your love and passion for your craft that will get you through those hard times.

