Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

What is your name (and usernames)?
Kathleen Sparkes
EmberBright (formerly MrsEmbers)

Where are you from?
Originally from Ontario (Canada), now living in Newfoundland

Age- 31

How long have you been customizing?
A little over 2 years

What got you started?
I was getting into collecting ponies (which were my favourite toys when I was a kid), and I saw pictures of customized ponies online when I was looking for information. I fell in love. 🙂

What types of customs do you do?
Mostly paint and rehair; I don’t do much sewing or sculpting.

What sort of mediums do you use?
acrylic paints (craft and artist’s), doll hair, mod podge, swarovski crystals, Apoxie Sculpt… I finally found some Testors Dullcote sealant, and I’m excited to try it.

Are there any products you just can’t live without?
A decent paintbrush!

What is your most favorite custom you have made?
Favourite sculpted: http://mrsembers.deviantart.com/gallery/#/d50bdxo

piscie_the_merpony_by_mrsembers-d50bdxo
Favourite painted: http://mrsembers.deviantart.com/gallery/?offset=24#/d4hg1gw

teodora_by_mrsembers-d4hg1gw
Well… OK, I have more favourites, but that’s two of them. ^.^

What is your least favorite custom you have made?
I… don’t think I’d take pictures of a least favourite! I’ll go with this guy, who my son begged me to make when we couldn’t get a Big MacIntosh toy: http://mrsembers.deviantart.com/gallery/?offset=72#/d39ds8p HIPPO!

big_fakeintosh_by_mrsembers-d39ds8p

What is the worst injury you’ve had from working on customs?
I burned myself pretty badly with boiling water once, and I’ve sliced my fingers pretty deeply with my scalpel. I’m way too clumsy for this hobby!

What is the funniest mistake you’ve made while working on your art?
I have a really hard time laughing at my mistakes… probably accidentally doing the design on the non-display side.

Who/What inspires you?
vintage dishes, fabrics, beautiful pictures.

What projects are you currently working on?
A G3 reverse Lemon Drop using RDUS Jonquil hair, a secret christmas commission, and a few things for a Christmas swap.

Do you have any odd habits while working on customs?
I stick paintbrushes in my mouth too much, and I hold my breath while I’m painting eyeliner/lashes

What types of art do you enjoy?
Anything can strike my fancy, depending on what kind of mood I’m in. 🙂

Do you take commissions?
When I have time!

Where can people see your work and contact you? (facebook, da, website- give us them all) 🙂
Facebook is the best way to contact me, and most of my work is posted there (EmberBright Customs); my DA account is MrsEmbers.
Do you have any favorite tips or tricks?
Hmm… I’m really liking Martha Stewart craft acrylics right now- they go on smooth without too much thinning. India ink pens are great for outlines (I recommend super fine size, but not XSF, it clogs).

What advice do you have for someone just starting to get into customizing?
1) Do your research. Make sure the bait pony you’re using isn’t one that should be in someone’s collection, read through the amazing tutorials online
2) Be patient with yourself. I sometimes get discouraged when I see the amazing ponies that other people produce and feel like giving up because mine will never look like that, but you can’t do that to yourself.
Your work is your own, and you shouldn’t want it to be like anyone else, and we only get better with practice. So…
3) Practice, practice, practice! Have fun and experiment.

