Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

What is your name (and usernames)?
Kellee Riley (aka KelleeArt)

Where are you from?
Florida, USA

Age-
Not old, but old enough to avoid the question… πŸ˜‰

How long have you been in the art industry?
10 yrs now.

What got you started?
I started drawing when I was 2 and just never stopped. I originally wanted to go into traditional animation, but life has a funny way of taking your paths and switching them up on you.

What types of customs/art do you do?
For my job I pretty much do a lot of licensing work. So I draw a lot of different characters that are on the market right now, including Dora, Spongebob, Barbie, Polly Pocket, Strawberry Shortcake, Monster High, La Dee Da, Winx, My Little Pony, Elefun, and many more. And for my own art for fun, it’s also going down the path of the Licensing realm for the moment. I’ve got a new brand called Nefairyous that I’m working on launching as an apparel line and I am also working on a comic book series (and online comic) that will be launching in March of 2013.

What sort of mediums do you use?
I use to do traditional sketches then scan and color in the computer, but for the past 2 yrs I just started drawing directly into the computer as well. I draw and do any paintings in Adobe Photoshop and my most common and favorite tool of the trade is Adobe Illustrator.

Are there any products you just can’t live without?
Have to have my Adobe programs…and my Wacom tablet. And my computer of course. πŸ™‚

What is the funniest mistake you’ve made while working on your art?
Good question…and at the moment, I really don’t remember! If I make a mistake on something I usually just hit “ctrl Z” or I don’t find it funny if it’s too big a mistake! πŸ™‚

Who/What inspires you?
I’m inspired by so many different artists, it’d take up a list longer than Santa’s. I like all types of styles, from art nouveau to graffiti, to traditional storybook type illustrations, anime, and a lot from video games and comic books too.

What projects are you currently working on?
Due to NDAs, I have to keep hush hush on everything, but there’s a lot, so I don’t sleep much. πŸ™‚

Do you have any odd habits while working on customs/art?
I don’t know how odd they are to everyone, but I work better at night and also work around the clock, but I usually get my sleep in little naps. So sleep happens usually between 7am-9am in the mornings and around 5pm-7pm at night. And I love large cola Slurpees to keep me awake.

What types of art do you enjoy?
Pretty much anything and everything. Computer art, traditional art, photography,animation, architecture, sculpture….you name it, I like it.

Do you take commissions?
On rare occasions if I find the extra time. I will post updates on Facebook and Deviantart when I’m open for them. For companies though, since that’s what I do for a living, I’m open to them all the time.

Where can people see your work and contact you? (facebook, da, website- give us them all)

www.kelleeart.com
https://www.facebook.com/KelleeArt
http://kelleeart.deviantart.com/
https://twitter.com/Kelleeart
http://www.livestream.com/KelleeArt
http://www.youtube.com/user/KelleeArt

Do you have any favorite tips or tricks?
Yikes…I don’t know! My videos show some things that I do without me having to describe it. My favorite trick is making Illustrator brushes.

What advice do you have for someone just starting to get into customizing/art?
Don’t ever give up on your passion for art. Never stop drawing. And also have fun with it. When you’re doing what you love, it never feels like work.

(all images are copyright of Kellee Riley)

16206_10152507991836338_1353698701792541503_n

483937_10150952229656338_175621088_n

577540_10150852590136338_727381144_n

10672331_10152314934971338_7329728398633727492_n

 

10888768_10152496456856338_3526758372397806120_n

